One Year with a Mac

Windows on Mac

I don’t know what it is about this picture, but it just creeps me out. Actually, it is my Imac, running Windows XP.

We have been using an Imac for a little over a year now, and I can honestly say, I don’t want to go back to using a Windows machine at home. Yes I do still keep Windows XP around (mainly to run Autocad) but I have found over the course of the last year, I am using XP less and less. In the last month, I have only cranked the XP portion of my Imac up twice.

So why do I like the Imac better? Well, it is more stable (I think it has crashed a total of 2 times). Installing software, and maintaining the the system is a lot simplier than it ever was on XP. When I have felt like going out on a limb and doing more advanced things, (like using SSH to get on my Linux box) there is a bash shell terminal built right in.

I have actually been doing quite a few things with my Imac that I never could get to work on my old XP box. I have edited together 4 different home movies (Imovie HD works great). My kids love playing with photo booth, and my little home website was created my Imac.  Here is hoping for a few more good years of computing on my Imac.

Published in: on December 4, 2007 at 7:17 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://whittenhome.wordpress.com/2007/12/04/one-year-with-a-mac/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

